Assign courses to users in the group
  • 08 Jan 2020
  • 2 Minutes To Read
  • Print
  • Share
  • Dark
    Light

Assign courses to users in the group

  • Print
  • Share
  • Dark
    Light

By default, learners can only consume auto enroll and self enrolled courses on the platform. For admin only courses, administrator has to assign such courses to leaners on the platform via groups.

To get started with course assignment for learners, administrator needs to first create a group and then assign courses to the group. Once the courses are assigned the group, all the existing users and new users in the group will be auto assigned all the selected courses. Administrator can assign any numbers of published courses irrespective of their enrollment type.

In this article, you will learn more about how to assign courses to group users on the management portal:

Permissions Level

The Microsoft Community Training management portal provides role-based administration and depending upon the type of access level administrator can perform an action on the portal. Table below shows administrative role which are allowed to assign courses to the users in the group on the portal:

Access Level Assign course to group users
Organization Administrator Yes
Category Administrator No
Course Administrator No
Group Administrator Yes

Steps to assign courses to users in the group

Tips
Whenever a new course is assigned to the users by the administrator, an announcement is sent which can be viewed by users under Notifications section of the learner experience.
  1. On the Microsoft Community Training portal, after login switch to administrator view in the portal and select a Group to which you want to assign courses to the group users

  2. Select Courses tab from group details page
    Assign courses

  3. Select Assign course button to see the list of courses which can be assign to the group users.

Note
Only published courses are displayed in the list
  1. Select the courses you want to assign to group and click or tap Done. If a user is part of multiple groups where same course has been assigned then it will not result in multiple course enrollement for the user.
    Assign - add courses
Note
Administrator can change the list of assigned courses for the group at any point of time but it will impact the course enrollment only for the new users added to the group after the change. For e.g. let's say admininstrator has removed Presentation skills from list of assigned courses for the Marketing group shown above. This will mean that any new user added to the group will not be auto-enroll to the Presentation skills course but existing users who got enrolled to the course previously will continue to see the course in the My Courses section of the learner experince
Was This Article Helpful?